Rock Out with My ‘Hawk Out

27 May

For quite some time now, I’ve been itching for a new ‘do in the coiffure department. Not just any cut. Something different, something crazy.  I contemplated head-shaving but a) I’ve been there, done that; and b) my sister’s wedding is in December and I wouldn’t do that to her. Then I got on a mohawk kick. Shaved sides, lots of ‘tude… but I wasn’t too sure about pulling that off.  I finally found a pic online of a cut that I really liked.  Long on the sides/back, and spiked on the top. I decided to take advantage of being in D.C. for getting this done because (no offense to the stylists in Pittsburg) I couldn’t be sure to find someone there who could get what I was going for.  Extremely edgy cuts don’t happen often in southeast Kansas.

After some searching of online reviews, I came across Bang Salon in D.C. They have a neat but to-the-point site at www.bangsalon.com. The salon on U Street was most frequently mentioned, so I browsed the stylists there.  On Sunday, I called to see when I could get in for a cut.  Thankfully, since I was available during the day, I got in right away.  The receptionist recommended Camden for my “something kinda crazy” request.  And I was not disappointed.  I knew as soon as I saw Camden, I was in good hands.  Awesome rocker hair, tats wherever skin was visible, and just the right amount of piercings.  The cute factor didn’t hurt either. (He’s married.  Sorry, ladies.)

   As I explained to Camden what I wanted, I appreciated the fact that he maIMAGE_018de sure I understood what I was getting in to, and he IMAGE_019IMG_2262seemed like he was prepared to tell me no or talk me out of it if need be.  But I must have convinced him that I was ready fo r the craziness that was about to take place on my head.  We were soon set for cutting.  During the cut, I was super-excited about how it was coming together. Afterwards, he styled and spiked it up in a sweet mohawk for me.  I gotta say, I am not a fan of the first pic because the lighting on my face sucks.  But I will post it anyway, because I love you guys.  The back shot is much mo’ betta. 

Unfortunately, the D.C. weather was not in the mood for a IMG_2267‘hawk that day.  Even with an umbrella, the rain and winds gusts on my walk back to the Metro decimated my ‘do.  Tim & I played around with the camera before bed (not like THAT, you pervs) and got a couple of cute shots of my hair cut.  Even when I don’t spike it up, it’ll still be a fun cut.  I can pull the sides & back up and it almost looks like boy-cut, which is uber-flattering to my face. I can wear it flat and look semi-“normal”.  Or just freakin’ messy bedhead. The possibilities are endless! 

Although he especially seems to excel at edgy cuts, I’m sure Camden is awesome at a variety of other styles.  If you need a new salon in D.C., I highly recommend checking him out at Bang.  I will definitely be back whenever I’m in town for a touch-up.  🙂

One Response to “Rock Out with My ‘Hawk Out”

  1. .Bittersweet. (Aunt Night-Mere) 28 May 2009 at 11:46 #

    Only you, babe. Tee hee! It looks great! Can’t wait to see it in person. 😀

Leave a Reply

