All I Need is a Catchy Title!

8 Mar

I’m a subscriber to the combination of theories that:

1) Everything happens for a reason, and

2) Life is what you make of it. Not Fate. Reason and Reaction.

That being said, I’m only human. I can get so caught up in my current problems that it takes a major exertion of willpower to take a time out for some logic… but when you take a step back from the things that seem to be huge, looming issues you can catch a glimpse of the inner workings of life.

I’m thankful for people who are in my life right now because I don’t think I would have made it through my separation without them. Family that loves me unconditionally, girlfriends I can commiserate with, other friends who can give me a balanced perspective, and even random strangers who make me realize that I’m not alone in this mess. They’re all in my life for a reason.

Another thing in my life for a reason is being broke. Sounds like a weird thing to be thankful for… but here’s why:

* It makes me more resourceful and creative, which makes me appreciate myself and my ability to survive on my own. As a result of being broke, I’ve arranged for a free bike tune-up, got my first library card in the state of Virginia, started a savings plan I’ve been putting off for way too long, and got $60 worth of groceries today for $35.

* It gives me a chance to spend a lot of time at the gym. Some of my best epiphanies have been in yoga class or on an elliptical machine. Not to mention it’s always nice to be in shape.

* It gives me time to sit at home. A LOT. And that means more journal writing and emotional cleansing and being one step closer to starting the book I’ve been threatening to write for years.

Purely fictional, of course…

Leave a Reply

